Archerfield Room (A Premium Room)
Between 1942 and 1945 Hulbert House was leased by the Archerfield Girls' School of Dunedin as a refuge for girls due to the threat of war. The Archerfield Room which is located on the ground floor of Hulbert House is named after this moment in history.
The colour palate of Archerfield Room is gold and royal blue with white poppies and accents of red in the occasional chairs. Featuring luxurious linens, lavish decor and a rich gold drapery swath provide the finishing touch to the super king bed. A total space of 27 sq m.
Boult Room (A Premium Suite)
The Boult Suite is named for Philip Burbage Boult, who was formally granted the land in 1876. Over the next decade a timber outbuilding with stone foundations was built on the back of the site at the Ballarat/Hallenstein Street corner with a further northern extension added by 1886. The original outbuildings to the north were subsequently removed.
The green and white themed Boult Suite is highlighted with royal blue and crimson red details with luxurious drapery swathed to a crown style canopy above the super king bed. Boasting a stunning antique writing desk - perfect for the aspiring author, the bay window features comfortable easy chairs for relaxing in and enjoying the garden views. This is the largest of the premium rooms at Hulbert House with a total space of 36.5 sq m.
Malaghan Room (A Premium Accessible Room)
In 1871 Michael John Malaghan, owners of the Prince of Wales (Mountaineer) Hotel, was granted the land on which Hulbert House now sits. A small timber cottage with a mono pitched roof was constructed and in 1874 a wooden verandah was installed on the front of the cottage and stone extension was constructed at the rear.
The Malaghan Room is named after Michael John Malaghan. This ground floor suite is styled in black and white with accents of gold and slate grey. Malaghan Room is on the ground floor of Hulbert House and features an accessible ensuite bathroom and a day bed from which to enjoy the views of Skyline Hill. A total space of 33 sq m.
Mason Suite & Wales Room (Premium Rooms)
Dunedin based architects Mason & Wales were commissioned by Horatio Nelson Firth to design the family villa homestead. The Mason & Wales Suites are named after William Mason and Nathaniel Young Armstrong Wales respectively. These two identical Rooms were originally a loft or attic in the main Homestead, but now boast window seats and dormer windows overlooking Queenstown and Lake Wakatipu.
The Mason and Wales Rooms both sport a crisp white decor with elegant trim in royal blue and a sunny yellow in the ensuite bathrooms. Chic designer bedside furniture blends perfectly with antique valets and tables.
Located on level one of Hulbert House, the Mason and Wales Rooms are accessed via the internal staircase featuring restored images from Queenstown Museum that tell the story of Queenstowns development. Total space of 26 sq m.
Super King Bed
Tea and Coffee Making Facilities
Bathrobes & Slippers
Turn Down Service
Bluetooth clock radio
Complimentary Arrival Refreshments
Pre-dinner Canapes & Refreshments
Iron & Ironing Board
e-Bikes (2 available)