Steeped in authentic history, we bring you a distinctive combination of historic elegance and contemporary service. Hulbert House offers a luxury, boutique accommodation experience suitable for all discerning international and domestic travellers. Each of the stunning suites has its own independent character and each is named after a prominent individual in the Homesteads history; from the Boult Suite named after Philip Burbage Boult who was granted the land in 1876 to the Firth Suite named after Horatio Nelson Firth, whose family lived here between 1889 and 1901 at which point Firth was sent to prison for embezzlement.
Hulbert House has a New Zealand Historic Places covenant protecting its historical significance for future generations.
The new interior design was created for us by Neil McLachlan. He was careful to preserve the period details and further enhance these with the use of splendid English wallpapers and a custom milled carpet was commissioned from New Zealand wool with the design inspired by willow pattern china. A judicious combination of patterned textiles have added further zing, while large scale French antiques and chandeliers ensure a pervading sense of opulence. A newly constructed 'Palm House' in what was the rear courtyard of the dwelling incorporates the original service wing and features custom made tiles which adorn a full height chimney breast. Close attention to detail has resulted in a truly extraordinary interior.
1871 Land officially granted to Michael John Malaghan, owner of the Prince of Wales (Mountaineer) Hotel, who became Mayor of Queenstown shortly afterwards
1874 A small timber cottage is constructed on site, along with two outbuildings to the north
1876 Land granted to Philip Burbage Boult. A timber building with stone foundations is built at the back of the site on the Ballarat/Hallenstein Street Corner
1886 Philip Burbage Boult sells the land to Horatio Nelson Firth, receiver of gold in Queenstown. Mason & Wales architects commissioned to design a villa 'fit for a gentleman'
Between 1889 and 1901 the house was the Firth family home
1901 Horatio Nelson Firth sent to prison for embezzlement, Firth's wife (Catherine) begins running the home as a boarding house
1910 Land and buildings owned by William Royston Ambler, and then Patrick McCarthy (the proprietor of the Mountaineer)
1924 McCarthy passes away and the house is purchased by Elizabeth McFarlane and operated as a private nursing home. In 1928 she became Mrs William Thompson (Australian 'Mulga Bill')
1937 Mary Salmon (the daughter to the original builder John Salmond, contracted by Horatio Nelson Firth) purchased the house as a holiday home, letting rooms with kitchen facilities
1942 The house was leased by the Archerfield Girls' School of Dunedin as a refuge for girls due to the threat of war
1945 The property was leased by the Southland Hospital Board as a maternity home, and was known as 'Tutuila'.
1948 Mary Salmond sold the property to Hazel Grant, who subsequently ran the property 'Tutuila' as a guest house.
1964 The house is taken over by the Salvation Army
1968 Purchase of the property by Harry Ashurst
1971 Purchase of the property by Alex Arnott
1972 Purchase of the property by O'Connells Hotel for use as a staff hostel
1981 Purchase of the house by Edward Sturt as a family home and bed and breakfast - the house was carefully restored and refurbished name was changed to Hulbert House at this time.
2009 Following the death of Edward Sturt the house became a backpackers' accommodation.
Such is its significance Hulbert House is a Category 2 Historic Place listing and protected by a covenant with Heritage New Zealand.